Frances Murphy Rumely Award

This award is sponsored and selected by the SMWC National Alumnae Association Board of Directors and may or may not be awarded every year. It is presented annually in memory of Frances Murphy Rumely, class of 1935, whose life was a celebration of the education she received at her beloved Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College.  In her lifetime, Frances volunteered thousands of hours to her college and community. 

Award Criteria

  • Demonstrated outstanding dedication to civic, religious or educational organizations.
  • Volunteered significantly to one or more such organizations.
  • Demonstrated leadership through work for such organizations, whether paid or volunteer.


Nominations will be accepted from alumnae/i and friends of Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College. Nominations are carried over for two years.

Rumely Award Nomination Form (Word Document - 277KB)

Previous Award Recipients

2012    Kathleen Wentland Lubeznik ’80

2011    Susan Maxheim Carter '64

2010    Joann Van Horn-Wieland ‘75

2009    Jane O’Brien Argento ’68

2008    Marlene Kihega Echohawk, Ph.D. ‘53

2007    Janice Powell ’88

2006    Brendan Harvey, SP ’53

2004    Dorothy Callahan Heiny ’39

2002    Katherine Humm Mull ’42

2001    Mary Jane Barmann Wynne ’75

2000    Nancy Wilson Owen ’63

1999    Elizabeth Rysdon Moebs ’64

1998    Aurelia Duralski Costanza ’60

1997    Jane Gibbons Schirack ’48

1996    Mary Addison Wilson Baker ’71

1995    Beth Crowley McCoy ’40

1993    Elizabeth Harry McLaughlin ’36

1991    Dorothy Petrillo Alfredo ’36

1989    Georgia Cole Krider ’38

1987    Ann Keefe Supplitt ’47

1985    Julianne Fischer Haefeli ’51