College Success Workshops At The Woods

May 6th, 2014 | SMWC

Making the right decisions about college can be complicated. That’s why there is the Vigo County “KnowHow2Go” College Success Workshops, a roadmap for preparing for the college experience. Designed for high school juniors, the path to success starts at Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College on May 8, 2014, from 9 a.m. - 2p.m. in the Rooney Library. By attending this free seminar, students will have an opportunity to attend a variety of sessions about higher education to jump-start the college search process.

    Students will select from the seminar sessions below:
  • 21st Century Scholars
  • College Student Panel Q & A
  • Financial Aid and Scholarship Information
  • Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics, and
  • Student Life

Faculty and staff members from Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College, Harrison College, Indiana State University, Ivy Tech State College and Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology will lead the sessions. Lunch will be provided.

This campaign is part of the national KnowHow2GO effort led by the Ad Council, American Council on Education and the Lumina Foundation for Education. The Vigo County “KnowHow2Go” College Success Workshop is made possible by a grant from the Indiana Commission for Higher Education.

For more information, contact Marsha Dull, assistant director of admission at Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College at (812) 535-5104 or visit

For the schedule of the day's events, see below.

9:00-9:30 a.m.                   Check-in                                                                 Rooney Library

9:30- 9:45 a.m.                  Welcome Session                                                 Presidents' Room 

                                                      Ryan McDonald, Director of Campus Admission

9:50- 10:40 a.m.                Session 1                                                              

                                    All        Darla Hopper (SMWC)                                      Presidents' Room

                                                      Financial Aid 

                                   a.           Emily Sellers                                                    Woods Student Center

                                                      21st Century Scholars

                                   b.          Brooke Huser (ISU)                                           Presidents' Room      


10:45- 11:40 p.m.             Session 2                                                              

                                    All        Jeff Malloy and Elizabeth Coley (SMWC)           Presidents' Room

                                                      Resident Life                                                                     

                                   a.    Amy Barg (Harrison College)                                  Woods Student Center

                                                     Student Mentoring                                                            

                                   b.   Brandy Candler (Ivy Tech)                                       Presidents' Room      

                                                     Start Here, Go There

11:45- 12:50 p.m.             Lunch                                                                      O’Shaughnessy Dining Hall                

1:00- 1:50 p.m.                 Session 3

                                    All        College Student Panel                                      Presidents' Room

                                                      Paige Harvey (SMWC)                                                     

                                                      Klair Wiram (Ivy Tech)

                                                      Matt Creed (Ivy Tech)

                                    a.    Debbie Miller/Tara Lane                                          Woods Student Center

                                                    Career Services                                                       

                                    b. Harrison Campbell (RHIT)                                        Presidents' Room      


1:50- 2:00 p.m.                 Closing                                                                    Presidents' Room

                                   Mike Brown, Executive Director of Enrollment Management

Comment on this article

This story has been moved to the archive and comments have now been disabled.